Re: Old Cars Price Guide article that needs retelling

Legacy yahoo archive through 2019. Please don't post new topics here.

Moderator: forumadmin

Bill

Old Cars Price Guide article that needs retelling

Post by Bill »

Yes, this is not about a Z or N 600 but the tail is still true with any vehicle you’re purchasing in parts and your asking the owner to box it up and send it out.      Drew Hiram Lynch   By Drew Hiram Lynch

I've been restoring old cars since 1935, and have used Old Cars Price Guide since it became available. It has been an invaluable aid for me. However, one area that needs to be covered concerns cars that are completely disassembled. I, and others that I know, have been stuck bad from purchasing such cars. Let me describe just one:
I went to another state to look at a rare Packard convertible. It was stored in several containers. The owner and I agreed on a price and the man delivered the parts to my shop in four trips. I wound up with the wrong radiator, engine, transmission, and driveshaft. I had to purchase four more Packards to get all the correct parts needed to complete the car. After three years of hard work, and much money, I had a nice car. Needless to say, I lost money on the deal. After three such deals, I learned not to buy cars that were disassembled.
For several years, I've been acting as a broker. Now I just find cars for some people, and find buyers for others' cars. I've traveled to many states and looked at a lot of junk, which the owners think has great value. My advice to people is to make sure that the car is complete and together. Also, unless they have time, energy, money, and patience, I advise them to purchase a restored car that is for sale. The only car that I'd advise a person to buy disassembled is one that is rare, but that is also a valid reason not to buy it. For such cars, parts are unavailable, hard to find, or extremely expensive.